The Kelly-Fradet Legacy started in 1951 when the company was founded as a 50/50 partnership by Lloyd Fradet and Red Weeks. Both employees of US Gypsum at the time. Their first purchase was Carmel Lumber. Lloyd was a department supervisor and Red was a Harvard graduate. In a strategic move, Kelly-Fradet was created by combining co-founder Lloyd Fradet and his wife's maiden name, Kelly.
On February 13, 1957, Kelly-Fradet purchased the 3-acre Enfield Lumber Company from Diamond Match Company. At that time, Red Weeks became the head of Kelly-Fradet Enfield. They also acquired Frederick Bomely from Diamond Match, who brought 14 years of lumber experience, as well as 9 other employees.
In February of 1959, a terrible fire leveled the East Longmeadow location causing over $200,000 in damages. Despite this setback, the company was doing business the next day, filling orders from the Enfield location. Later, the yard was rebuilt with a larger, fireproof warehouse.
Kelly Fradet purchased Bidwell Lumber of Windsor Locks and was later sold to an apartment developer.
In 1964, Broad Brook Lumber and Coal was purchased and made into a retail and wholesale store.
In 1965, Thompsonville Lumber was purchased and made into a retail and wholesale store. In that same year, Kelly-Fradet sold Bidwell Lumber to an apartment developer.
In 1966, the East Longmeadow Kelly-Fradet Mart was opened as the first "cash and carry supermarket" in Western New England. Unfortunately, this location was closed due to "not providing for itself economically" in 1976.
On July 28, 1974, Lloyd Fradet passed away transferring ownership to Red Weeks. In that same year, an annual golf tournament begin for all employees. Today, the company provides a scholarship program for children of employees who are attending college through the generous donation of employees. The company continues that tradition, along with an annual holiday party for employees, guests, and scholarship recipients.
In 1976, Kelly-Fradet Vernon was purchased. But arguably, the most memorable moment of the year was a fire that leveled Enfield Lumber. Only one of six buildings was left standing. Flames were reported to be 50-60 feet high and it took five fire companies from Enfield several hours to battle the blaze. The cause of that fire is still unknown.
In 1979, yard operations were re-opened in East Longmeadow.
Kelly-Fradet purchased The W.G. Glenny Lumber Company in Ellington CT.
Kelly Fradet purchased The Bridge Lumber Company in Enfield CT.
Red Weeks passed away leaving full ownership to his wife Aline and children Bob, Dave, Doug, and Candy. “Any business is a people business. It is the families that work for Kelly Fradet and the customers who purchase from us that create the foundation of our success! “ - Co founder Red Weeks
In January 2020, Kelly-Fradet became an ESOP Company and is now 100% employee owned ensuring that Kelly-Fradet can continue to be an independent family-owned lumber company for many generations to come.
Kelly Fradet now has four locations. Three in CT and one in Western MA. 76 Employees with over 1068 years of combined experience. Kelly Fradet is proud to have some of the most loyal customers, from builders, remodelers, and homeowners. Our customers are the reason why Kelly Fradet has prospered for over 70 years. “Take care of the customer and you will succeed!” -David Weeks